Cuban Faces in Black and White

Cuba Day 2

Staying with last week’s theme of “older” faces, these worked better in black and white.

Lunch in the park in Old Havana.

Lunch in the park in Old Havana.

Street portrait with car. My last hours of shooting in Central Havana.

Street portrait with car. My last hours of shooting in Central Havana.

And moving on to the middle-aged crowd, two more.

Coffee break? Havana Cuba Day 1

Coffee break? Havana Cuba Day 1

Cuba Day 2

15 comments on “Cuban Faces in Black and White

  1. acalvern says:

    I love these photos, Bunty. I love them. Do you ask permission? I find everybody in India wants to ‘pose’ but I am no good at all in just clicking without getting their ok.

    • BuntyMcC says:

      Hi Allison: In Cuba if you point to your camera they will nod and just go about their business. A few pose – which makes for awful photos – and rarely does someone say no. My colleagues – I was on a photo workshop – were often very close to the same subjects because they had different lenses, so I’d just stand back a ways and wait for the right moment. On the other hand, the second, third and fourth of these shots were taken without the subjects noticing me.

  2. Anabel Marsh says:

    Lunch in the park is particularly lovely.

  3. Lignum Draco says:

    Lovely photos but I can’t help but wonder what colours I’m missing out on. The whole place just looks so photogenic.

    Do you speak Spanish or did you learn some for this trip?

    • BuntyMcC says:

      I have been posting photos from my Feb 2016 trip to Cuba on Thursdays for some time now and most of the ones I’ve posted have been in colour. The April 6 post had the same two having lunch – but in colour. Sometimes the colour is just too garish and distraction. I have only a few words in Spanish but on most days I was with our workshop leader who does speak fairly well. And I don’t think you need any Spanish to visit Havana and wander the streets with a camera; the locals are used to it.

  4. They’re all so fluid and tell a different story! The lady with car is my favorite. That’s a classic!

    The couple having lunch on the bench…there are so many contrast again in this image! I could watch them all day long! I bet their whole day would be filled with opposites, and interest! 🙂

  5. Wow .. these are sooo good! I keep saying this, but I love your Cuban photos .. and these mono are special! Well done

  6. You have a great eye for street photos. They work great in black and white. It may inspire me to try more shots in B & W with my own photos.

    • BuntyMcC says:

      I get home, look at them in colour, and if the colour is overwhelming, or there is good contrast, or the photo just doesn’t work for me, I convert it to black and white and check that out. It’s amazing how the switch to monochrome can make a so-so picture look really good.

Leave a Reply

