Rusty details in a Cuban Cemetery

On our third day in Havana, we took a taxi to the Christopher Columbus Cemetery, were given a short tour of the major mausoleums, and turned loose for the morning. Not getting lost was a major challenge.

The predominant colour in Cementerio de Cristobal Colón is white. But doors on crypts, gates and details are made of iron, and that iron has rusted.

Who has the key?

Who has the key?

The Angel Gate.

The Angel Gate.

Selfie with Lyre. I was shooting that day with my Sony R100-III

Selfie with Lyre. I was shooting that day with my Sony R100-III

A touch or orange.

A touch or orange.

This detail, seen on a lot of the newer gravesites, has not rusted but I couldn’t figure out what it was made of.

Cuba Day 3

Cuba Day 3

12 comments on “Rusty details in a Cuban Cemetery

  1. The angel gate is just lovely.

  2. BuntyMcC says:

    Thanks. I just wish I could have found an angle (!) that didn’t have a lot of distracting background.

    • Longer lens, bigger aperture. Blow out the background.

      • BuntyMcC says:

        True enough, but nearly impossible with the Sony Rx100M3 with a max aperture of 1.8 (this shot at 2.8) and a max lens of 70 mm. This is why I don’t like this camera, except for street work and landscapes. Still, that day I wanted to force myself to use only it – and many of my shots suffered for it.

  3. inesephoto says:

    I love the way you cover everything, and present so many interesting details. Great trip, great photography.

    • BuntyMcC says:

      Thanks for your ‘review’ – I always want to know where photos on other people’s blogs were taken so I figure I ought to do what I expect of others. The challenge is not to overdo it and become wordy and boring.

  4. Your various posts about Cuba have whetted my appetite to visit that nation.

    • BuntyMcC says:

      There must be lots more to see. In a week, I only managed a portion of Havana and one side trip to Vinales but was never bored. I hope you make it while the doors are still fairly open for you.

  5. Lignum Draco says:

    Interesting and in stark contrast to the usual colours associated with Cuba.
    I’ve started to learn a little Spanish in preparation for my trip. Is wifi easy to find in Cuba?

    • BuntyMcC says:

      There are public parks where for the equivalent of a couple of dollars you can buy – from street vendors – about half an hour of wifi. You get a link to the router and a password and you can reuse it until you run out of time. It was fine for checking email and posting to Facebook or Instagram. Every now and then you’d get bumped off because of volume. I have no idea what might be available in higher end tourist hotels and restaurants because we were not in any. One such park was Parque Fe del Valle on Galliano between San Miguel and San Rafael in Habana Centro (Central Havana) which shows up on Google Maps.

Leave a Reply

