Cuban Dogs Three

This is the last of three posts of 16 dogs in Cuba. Some dogs were beloved family pets and the owners were quite willing to show them off.

Sharpei?

Coddled in Central Havana February 2016

Coddled in Central Havana February 2016

Pug.

Beloved pet. Central Havana February 2016

Beloved pet. Central Havana February 2016

I love this one. I think the dog was blind even though it appears to be looking at me.

Havana Cuba Day 1

Havana Cuba Day 1

I don’t pretend to understand the significance of the doll, but thought it was an interesting juxtaposition with a dog named Gorki.

Gorki - Central Havana February 2016

Gorki – Central Havana February 2016

Okay – what does the cartoon on the left of this picture remind you of? It’s why I took the photo the way I did, but none of my photography tour colleagues agreed with me.

Cuba Day 6 Central Havana

Cuba Day 6 Central Havana

13 comments on “Cuban Dogs Three

  1. I have no idea. What did it say to you?

  2. BuntyMcC says:

    I thought it looked like a cartoon of Fidel Castro- in his younger days.

  3. the dogs look healthy…i could do with out the chain…but then i know there are dogs chained here even in the winter….i love dogs….

    • BuntyMcC says:

      They put in a law somewhere in the Maritimes that you cannot leave a dog chained outside for more than a certain length of time. This one was the only one I noticed with a chain. and she sure look healthy and the house was in relatively good shape.

  4. First thing that came to mind was Abraham Lincoln!!
    That last picture is great; I really like the composition and the dog itself – he’s more focused, alert, a bit of a ‘lad’!

    • BuntyMcC says:

      Abe Lincoln didn’t occur to me – perhaps because I’m Canadian? The dog is a bit of a ‘lad’ but wasn’t the least bit aggressive – just curious. Thanks for your comment.

  5. The one with the blind pooch is special …

  6. taphian says:

    great photos, I love animals and sometimes photograph them in Greece

  7. BuntyMcC says:

    Ahhhhh, Greece. I would love to get back there some day; it’s been 22 years. And I didn’t have much of a camera, or time to shoot.

  8. If that cartoon had a cigar then I could see it like you do, Bunty. Lol!

Leave a Reply

