Cuban Dogs too

Five more photos, four more dogs…

Some dogs seemed to be street creatures, and others were pampered. Some had license tags, others not. Some seemed to belong to a particular street, this first one was in the middle of a huge plaza in Old Havana.

Havana Cuba Day 1

Havana Cuba Day 1

No collar on this one.

Struttin' - Cuba Day 2

Struttin’ – Cuba Day 2

A collar with a bell.

Central Havana February 2016

Central Havana February 2016

This little guy was about the size of a Chihuahua and he knew he was cute. One of my friends posed him on the box for colour contrast.

At a rest stop half way to Vinales, Cuba

At a rest stop half way from Havana to Vinales, Cuba

At a rest stop half way to Vinales, Cuba

At a rest stop half way from Havana to Vinales

23 comments on “Cuban Dogs too

  1. Such cuties… and I love the first one, dog and photo!

  2. BuntyMcC says:

    Thanks for commenting Noortje. I’m guessing you like the Featured Image dog – rather than the poor creature lying in the hot sun. I felt a bit guilty about photographing the Havana Club one as we were taking advantage of the little beggar.

  3. Great photos of the Cuban dogs and I like your pebble/beach theme background too, on your main site!

  4. philandjane says:

    Last poor little chap looks a bit under fed ☹️️

  5. BuntyMcC says:

    He probably is. I think a lot of the stray dogs had various parasites and worms. I don’t know if there are Veterinarians without Borders operating in Cuba (though I did read of such a thing is a mystery novel set in Havana!)

  6. What a good idea for a photo theme! (# 1 reminds me of the dogs we saw in Greece – so many sleeping dogs that they had postcards of them)

    • BuntyMcC says:

      Nice to hear from you, Hoarder. One of my companion photographers was obsessed with photographing dogs and seemed to be drawn to them, so there were lots of opportunities! Watch for Cuban Dogs three. I don’t remember dogs in Greece but that was 22 years ago and I was there on business and not carrying a camera (yet.)

  7. That last pooch looks like he needs a good feed .. and I would bet a worming tablet wouldn’t go astray.

  8. inesephoto says:

    So cute. Love your Cuban series. Paradise for photographer 🙂

  9. taphian says:

    they are so cute and probably nobody cares for them

  10. Cute little pups. The last little puppy, the one on the yellow Havana Club box tugs at my heart strings. Great post, thanks for sharing.

  11. otter9955 says:

    Those are adorable pics!! I love dogs! They are one of my favorite animals and have 1 as a pet. Dogs are so adorable and lovable to snuggle with.

    • BuntyMcC says:

      I don’t think many of these dogs get snuggled! Except the pampered one in the middle. Thanks for commenting on my blog, Otter.

  12. fidelsgirl says:

    These dogs are just so sad and hungry all the time. I took home one of these when coming back home from the party. We called her Apululu (joy in Cuban Spanish) 🙂

Leave a Reply

