Cuban Horses

Working, trekking and tourist riding horses, Vinales, Cuba

Working, trekking and tourist riding horses, Vinales, Cuba

The photo above is one of my top five from my trip to Cuba. I call myself an opportunistic photographer; I rounded the corner of a building and there they were. No one else in my group saw them. The man stayed in the composition for about 30 seconds.

The second horse in this post was tied up in Central Havana near a combined flower/cigar shop set up on the sidewalk. I liked the contrasting colours of the reins and halter.

Delivery horse. Central Havana February 2016

Delivery horse. Central Havana February 2016

22 comments on “Cuban Horses

  1. robert87004 says:

    I can see why this is one of your top five. I like them both. πŸ™‚

  2. I like the top image. It looks a painting

    • BuntyMcC says:

      Yes, I guess it is a bit fuzzy on the blog, but I love the composition and the colours and the feel.. I must look at it again to see if I overdid one of the settings when I edited it.

  3. Anabel Marsh says:

    That top one IS brilliant. I can see why you are proud of it.

  4. coolquilting says:

    I love the colours in the second shot too

  5. inesephoto says:

    Beautiful photographs! It is so wonderful that there is still a niche for horses these days.

    • BuntyMcC says:

      All the horses on Cuba are put to work. I was only in Havana and Vinales but I suspect that in more remote (not touristy) areas there are many more. The ones in the photo were for tourist rides.

  6. I love the second shot .. The contrast is fab, and the way he is holding his head .. πŸ˜ƒ

  7. and I love horses and Cuba…watching some Netflix series on Cuba’s history can’t wait to go back! You’ve captured all of it so lovely Bunty ~ smiles Hedy ☺️

  8. macalder02 says:

    Without being a photographic critic, you can tell that your photos are extraordinary. They let you see clearly your clean technique for the photos. I congratulate you.

  9. chiefgirl101 says:

    Riding in Cuba sounds amazing!! I hope to do that one day!

Leave a Reply

