Cats in Cuba

This is not a cat blog. Except today. And I’m breaking my rule about not posting more than five photos at a time.

This little one was shot at f1.4 in a very dark tobacco barn at ISO 800 and 1/60 second. At least she sat still for it. One of my 50 favourite shots from the trip.

Tobacco barn kitten, Vinales, Cuba

Tobacco barn kitten, Vinales, Cuba

Outdoor Restaurant Cat, Vinales, Cuba

Outdoor Restaurant Cat, Vinales, Cuba

We didn’t see a lot of cats in Havana and those we did see were probably feral. I wasn’t sure about this one because it was very clean, except for the eye problem…

Black and White - Cuba Day 6 Central Havana

Black and White – Cuba Day 6 Central Havana

Market cat; Central Havana February 2016

Market cat; Central Havana February 2016

The cat with this lady looks a lot like my cat at home, who is named Pinball.

Pet Cat; Central Havana, Cuba Day 2

Pet Cat; Central Havana, Cuba Day 2

Like I said, feral, and in this case, in need of veterinary attention.

Mange....Central Havana February 2016

Mange….Central Havana February 2016

19 comments on “Cats in Cuba

  1. Oooh the first one is sooo beautiful Γ‘nd adorable… but then they all are! You can not post enough cat or other animal photo’s for me, so thank you πŸ™‚

    • BuntyMcC says:

      Dogs yet to come; there were far more dogs than cats. Of cows, we saw none and milk was reconstituted powdered. I started to drink my coffee black in Cuba!

  2. Beauties! I’m a cat lover.

  3. Anabel Marsh says:

    I love cats, and these are beauties! I feel so sorry for that last one though.

    • BuntyMcC says:

      Well there are feral and sick cats in every city; most of them don’t sit for photos! But I agree, I was concerned for the last one.

  4. I remember seeing many critters needing care…wonder if vets without borders goes to Cuba? I love all critters πŸ’™ have a happy weekend Bunty!

    • BuntyMcC says:

      I’d never heard of VSF! So I checked their website and they don’t seem active in Latin America at present. Generally the small animals we saw were well cared for but in a large city one expects there will be some feral cats ,and wild dogs in rural areas.

  5. Poppy says:

    Such a winsome face the first little cat Bunty . All eyes … a great capture . Yes I guess quite a few sorry sites :(.. so many seem to just get by.

  6. inesephoto says:

    Fantastic photographs. The first one is zoomed so perfectly, it could make a magazine cover.

    • BuntyMcC says:

      Not zoomed. A 50 mm prime on a crop sensor, and a willing subject. Glad you like her.

      • inesephoto says:

        Such a lovely kitty! She let you come quite close πŸ™‚ 50mm is a great lens, I use it for baby photography. Sharp like a razor, and its small size is not intimidating πŸ™‚

  7. Wow .. I’m a cat person. Just love these .. Feel sorry for the kitty with the skin problem ..

  8. samba2017 says:

    These photos are stunning. I love the market cat photo! Thanks for sharing. I have just started a poetry blog here on WordPress in case you have time to have a look? Wishing you a sunny afternoon, Sam πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

