Plymouth Portrait

When I was 5 or 6, (in 1953 or 1954,) my parents got their first car. I don’t think it was new, but it might have been. Our next-door neighbours had a Ford; my father had purchased a Dodge. I hopped into the passenger seat, picked out the letters on the dash and said: “D-O-D-G-E – Ford.” I’ve never really been into cars.

All week in Havana I was on the lookout for an early 1950’s Dodge. This is the closest I got. Plymouths were “in” in Cuba, Dodges were not.

Cuba Day 3 - Central Havana Street Photography

Cuba Day 3 – Central Havana Street Photography

 A Plymouth of the right shape and beautifully painted.

A Plymouth of the right shape and beautifully painted. But not a Dodge.

Cuba Day 3 - Plymouth interior

Cuba Day 3 – Plymouth interior

I’m 68 and when taking a closer look at the photo below I just realized where this car model got its name. The sculpture on the tail light is of a ship; landing in Plymouth, Mass, USA. I’m Canadian; that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it.

Cuba Day 3 - Around the back.....

Cuba Day 3 – Around the back…..

Cuba Day 3 - Aha, this is why it was sitting on the street!

Cuba Day 3 – Aha, this is why it was sitting on the street!

6 comments on “Plymouth Portrait

  1. lovely feeling and colours….

  2. Such great images … You stick to it! šŸ˜ƒ

Leave a Reply

