Cuban Cars

Blue wall art, green taxi.

Blue wall art, green taxi.

My last Cuban street art post ended with a blue taxi next to blue wall art. This one starts in the same location with a different car. It was obviously a popular pick-up and drop off location on this particular taxi circuit. Taxis in Havana don’t have stands, they drive continuously in a well-understood route and you just flag them down.

As I was preparing this post, I realized that you don’t see a lot of two-toned cars these days: Mini Coopers and the odd convertible (well, odd where I live because the weather is only warm enough for maybe 30 days a year to put the top down.)

Two tone red.

Two tone red.

Two tone silver-grey.

Two tone silver-grey.

Two tone with swish.

Two tone with swish.

I had no idea of how to organize the many (don’t ask how many!) shots of colourful 1940 and 1950’s cars I took.  I certainly can’t do it by marque because I don’t know, but I think the last one is a Chev. Please chime in if you know what cars these are!

These four shots were all taken on my last day in Havana, in February, in the Central Havana District.  Many more cars to come.

 

22 comments on “Cuban Cars

  1. lauramacky says:

    Incredibly colorful!

  2. Last care is a Pontiac.

  3. No ideas of the makes but great images .. Love the two tone 😊

  4. inesephoto says:

    Wow, cute cars, so nostalgic 🙂

  5. pix & kardz says:

    so colourful! would love to visit Cuba one day…

  6. fantastic should be on my bucket list 🙂

    • BuntyMcC says:

      I believe you are European? Yes do get there before it is changed by US visitors and the money and consumer society they will take with them.

  7. I love looking at shots of the old cars still in use in Havana, you got some fabulous ones while you were there. I don’t know the makes but they are lovely to look at and photograph. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Very cool juxtapositions.
    Are the colors at all symbolic or linked to the route?

Leave a Reply

