Actaea formerly known as Cimicifuga

Bugbane at NB Botanic Garden

Bugbane at NB Botanical Garden

The very narrow flower spikes of bugbane – to use its common name – are very attractive in mass plantings.

At the New Brunswick Botanical Garden in Edmundston NB this past weekend I noticed two striking stands of them, but couldn’t find a label on either.

Bugbane at NB Botanic Garden

Bugbane at NB Botanical Garden

This link, from a UK newspaper, tells you more about them, why their name has changed and how to grow it.

To see more takes on the theme of Narrow – visit the WordPress Photo Challenge page for this week.

9 comments on “Actaea formerly known as Cimicifuga

  1. Janice says:

    A beautiful and fascinating plant. Your photos showcase it well.

    • BuntyMcC says:

      Thanks; I’ve never grown it, have you? The first time I saw and was impressed by it I read something about it being invasive….

  2. Janice says:

    I am not familiar with this plant but I am going to keep my eyes open for it. I just looked it up and found out that another name for it is cohosh…I ‘ve heard of black cohosh as a herb helpful for women…the flowers are white but the dried seeds are black.

  3. It sure is attractive Steve .. Would be lovely to see lots of it

Leave a Reply

