Drumheller Scenes

Spring comes three or four weeks earlier to Drumheller, Alberta, than it does to my home in Prince Edward Island.  And I can’t grow either of these plants: Pulsatilla (one of my plants lasted one winter) or Anemone. My cousin had them in his garden on May 6, 2016.

One of my rules of photography is: always carry the wrong camera lens when going out for a walk. With a 24-70mm lens, this was all I could get of the skittish deer who who stayed well away from us.

Drumheller, Alberta

Find the two mule deer!

I suspect that the concrete blocks on the decommissioned bridge are partly there to prevent the bridge from floating away in a flood. But they also serve to discourage walkers and prevent cyclists from using the bridge as part of a rail trail.  Something to do with liability – which should really be sorted out to the benefit of residents and tourists. We walked the trail on the east side – which is where we saw the deer.

Drumheller, Alberta

Drumheller, Alberta

Below: another wildlife sighting.  Sitting on an island in the Red Deer River was an osprey (hiding behind the twigs on the right.)  I was actually taking a picture of the recent rock fall on the upper left, which is distinguished by the fresher bands of orange.

Drumheller, Alberta

Drumheller, Alberta

Drumheller, Alberta

An interesting rock!

Drumheller, Alberta

A close up of the interesting rock. Drumheller, Alberta

This is the last of my posts from Drumheller!

2 comments on “Drumheller Scenes

  1. Smiled when I read about the wrong lens .. I do that all the time! Lovely flower pics too..

Leave a Reply

