Scenes from Vinales, Cuba

Finca - farm - house in Vinales, Cuba

Finca – farm – house in Vinales, Cuba

 

It was at this farm that we were offered a demonstration of cigar rolling. …and a look into a near empty drying barn.  Inside I was taken by this unused outdoor chair in what I came to think of as the national colour of Cuba – a soft blue green.

Inside a mostly-empty tobacco drying barn.

Inside a mostly-empty tobacco drying barn.

 

We then walked for a while to another farm where hand harvesting was taking place – see this post.  And then we ended up at this friendly enterprise, where one of my colleagues befriended and photographed an Agouti.

A refreshment stand and small patio on a tobacco farm in Vinales, Cuba

A refreshment stand and small patio on a tobacco farm in Vinales, Cuba

Somewhere in our walk I encountered this pack of trail horses – an important business for ferrying tourists through the countryside.

Vinales, Cuba

Vinales, Cuba

11 comments on “Scenes from Vinales, Cuba

  1. nivs24 says:

    These look like stills of movie scenes. Brilliant.

    • BuntyMcC says:

      What an interesting thought. Thank you very much for the compliment! The horses were one of my favourite captures from the whole trip.

  2. Naomi says:

    That blue house is striking!

    • BuntyMcC says:

      Especially so with the orange soil. I have closer-ups of the farmhouse but prefer this one as a pop of colour. Thanks Naomi.

  3. Fantastic photo’s! I love the horses…

  4. I hope to get to Cuba this fall. Your posts are inspiring me.

    • BuntyMcC says:

      Other than these last few posts about Vinales I was only in Havana doing photography. I’m sure there are great things for hikers to do in Cuba. February was relatively cool, but I didn’t do anything terribly active.

  5. Such great photos .. 😃 you had a great time with that camera didn’t you?

    • BuntyMcC says:

      Well, that is what I was there for: a one week photo workshop with Dan Callis who knew where to take you to get the shots. However, of the five of us that day, I’m the only one who saw these horses. I had gone the long way around the barn in the back of the first picture and poof! there they were.

Leave a Reply

