iPhriday: Spring at Last

Because we are an island, surrounded by cold water from the Gulf of St. Lawrence, spring is always late. Today it was finally warm enough to do some yard work.

First spring flowers

First spring flowers

After spending a couple of hours raking pine needles and cleaning up a flower bed I lay on the grass getting pictures of my heather (Erica carne) and crocuses.

The second flowers of the spring.

The second flowers of the spring.

 

Someone once remarked about insects on flowers and how that added something special to the photo. I find it’s nearly impossible to take pictures of flowers without getting an insect or two in the shot. And that’s a good thing.

First pollen hunter.

First pollen hunter.

Both Thursday and Friday there were three seals sunning themselves on a spit of land downriver from the bridge. Your can barely see them Рone is bigger and lighter than the other two.

 

High tides these four days have brought some seals up the river - following some sort of food, no doubt.

High tides these four days have brought some seals up the river – following some sort of food, no doubt.

Photos taken with an iPhone 6.

iPhriday was begun by Gray Days and Coffee, who posts here.

I set up this post on iPhriday but couldn’t get the photos off my phone onto my desktop. First world problem….

6 comments on “iPhriday: Spring at Last

  1. Edith says:

    Beautiful photos! ….mosquito!! Noooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!

    • BuntyMcC says:

      I also ended up with bites…I blame it on crawling around on the lawn to get the pictures. At least that’s what I hope it was.
      And yes, I agree with your assessment of Mozzies.

  2. Lovely images taken with your iPhone. That bug looks for the world like a mozzie ..

    • BuntyMcC says:

      I thought it was an ant when I photographed it but had second thoughts later. But I’ve never seen a mozzie grazing on a flower.

  3. wonderful shots. Your heather looks like it’s tickling Buddha’s tummy and that’s why he’s laughing!

  4. BuntyMcC says:

    Could be…or because he gets to enjoy the first flowers of spring in the garden. Glad you’re back.

Leave a Reply

