The Pownal Escarpment on iPhriday

(Post-post edit: All day I’ve thought it was Friday. Took the iPhone to town with me, planned photos on the way home, posted this evening. I just realized it’s Thursday.  Ahhh the joys of being retired.)

As you drive along the shore road between the Town of Stratford and my home, 20 km away, the Pownal Escarpment is the rise of land to the north.

Western part of the Pownal Escarpment

Western part of the Pownal Escarpment

Driving home along the Pownal Escarpment

Driving home along the Pownal Escarpment

In the next photo you can see a snowmobile trail crossing from one field to the next parallel to the top of the slope.

East end of the Pownal Escarpment

East end of the Pownal Escarpment

It’s not a very impressive escarpment compared with the Great Rift Valley or the Niagara Escarpment over which Niagara Falls tumbles.  An escarpment is simply a steep slope or long cliff that occurs from faulting, tilting or warping  and separates two relatively level areas of differing elevations.  All the slopes have been farmed for more than a century, some just up to the point where it became too steep, and where trees remain. Over the past 40 years several impressive and very expensive houses have been built at the top of the slope.

The pictures were taken with an iPhone 6 from my (stopped) car as I was driving back from iPhriday grocery shopping. I stopped about four times to take photos and not once did a car pass me on the whole drive!

For those of you who follow my blog, you will remember CauliPhlower from a couple of weeks ago. The price has gone down significantly.  They could just as easily have put 6.99 under the x-ed out price!

I bought one!

I bought one!

Posted for iPhriday a brainchild of Gray Days and Coffee,  who posts lovely photos all the time,whether with her iPhone or something more substantial!

12 comments on “The Pownal Escarpment on iPhriday

  1. Nice to see the price of cauliflower has come down to Earth. 🙂 The white snow with the blue sky is gorgeous.

  2. BuntyMcC says:

    It was nice to see the sun today after it had been missing for about a week.

  3. Suzy Barker says:

    Beautiful scenery

  4. escarpment is one of those 10 dollar words! I’m struck by how amazingly blue the sky is in your pics. And, if you want, you can post an iPhriday pic every day of the week, Bunty! 🙂

    • BuntyMcC says:

      Full disclosure re an escarpment: my degrees are in Geography, though I didn’t study much geomorphology. The skies were saturated a tiny bit in processing, but not much. With a bright sun and clean snow the blue is gorgeous. The view the other way, towards the sun, was quite hazy over the strait (another geography word!)

  5. inesephoto says:

    Beautiful weather and amazing pictures! We don’t have snow, but guess what – our cauliflowers always stay under 3 Euros 🙂

  6. BuntyMcC says:

    It was nice to see the sun after several days of gray. By the way, 3 Euros is about $4.60 on Canadian dollars. So I guess Cauliflower was cheap this week.

  7. Tina Schell says:

    LOL on getting the day wrong Bunty – I do it all the time. Retirement has its benefits doesn’t it? I always say weekends are a time to avoid since all the “real” people are out there !! Lovely photos altho they make me remember why I moved south!!

    • BuntyMcC says:

      Retirement has definite benefits, liking being able to take a photo workshop anytime you want! (I was in Cuba so didn’t see your comment until today.) I can take cold better than heat, so I’m not likely to move south – and thankfully Cuba was not too hot.

  8. jesh stg says:

    Snow is always more beautiful than for the onew who have to live with it!

Leave a Reply

