50 and 55 years later…

This is an embarrassingly lazy post. We’re having our second iPhriday storm in a row and I decided to work on an indoor project instead of venturing out.

1966 Girls' Basketball Team - Cormier High School, Edmundston NB

1966 Girls’ Basketball Team – Cormier High School, Edmundston NB

 

In July my high school graduating class is having its 50th reunion. I have contributed a few photos of 1960’s school activities to our reunion Facebook page. My larger project, however, is to find photos of people from my home town in my, and my mother’s, albums.  Her albums date back to the 1930’s.  I plan to give the physical prints to the subjects – or their children – when I am in Edmundston, NB, at the end of July.

For images I want to share now, on Facebook or WordPress, an iPhoto is as sharp as a file scanned by my scanner!

Below  is my graduation picture and one from summer camp in 1961. (Why they are next to each other in my otherwise well-organized album is a mystery.)

Graduation Photo 1966

High School Graduation Photo 1966

This post is for iPhriday and the WordPress Photo Challenge Time

17 comments on “50 and 55 years later…

  1. I just love old school photos .. Best of luck with your project 😄

    • BuntyMcC says:

      Thanks Julie. I need discipline to make me throw out all the bad ones and give away the ones that may be meaningful to someone else.

  2. How cute 🙂 An what a great project…!

    • BuntyMcC says:

      Cute?!?! It may be the last chance I get to see some of the people who are in photos which are of no interest to my children (or an archivist!) so I might as well give them to someone who might appreciate them.

  3. Janice says:

    That’s an interesting idea for preserving old photos! Like your pictures 🙂

    • BuntyMcC says:

      I don’t intend to digitally photograph very many. I expect to cull about 90% and give 5% to friends and family and keep 5% for me.

  4. Naomi says:

    I love seeing your old photos. What was it like playing basketball in a skirt? 🙂

    • BuntyMcC says:

      The skirt was short and we wore a one-piece romper underneath so it wasn’t much difference from baggy shorts. What was different was that when I started playing, girls played six-a-side and you weren’t allowed across the centre line. So there were never more than six people in one section of the floor at one time – 3 forwards from one team and 3 guards from the opponents. It made you learn to pass. The rules changed before I hit grade 12.

  5. Bunty you and I graduated the same year! I’ll have to look for my high school pictures! I have never been back for a reunion though! Once I was gone I was gone!

    • BuntyMcC says:

      I go back because it’s relatively close and I have family nearby. I suspect reunions will die out now that we have social media to catch up with people we haven’t seen for years.

  6. Great idea for a post!

Leave a Reply

