Vibrance in the Storm

Yellow! Burdock, waiting to catch my clothes come spring.

Yellow! Burdock, waiting to catch my clothes come spring.

Yesterday I posted Black and White pictures from the start of a heavy wet snowfall.

While I was out in the snow, I also shot some vibrant bits that caught my eye.

Persistent apples that turn from yellow to orange as the winter progresses.

Persistent apples that turn from yellow to orange as the winter progresses.

It must have been warmer under the pines because the snow there was melting.

Green! It must have been warmer under the pines because the snow there was melting.

Tomato cage with leftover orange hemp support twine.

Pink! Tomato cage with leftover orange hemp support twine.

Rose hips on Rosa rubra

Orange! Rose hips on Rosa rubra

Rose hips on a shrub rose that reverted to its rootstock. I think it's an invasive and I'm debating on digging it up.

Red and Black. Rose hips on a shrub rose that reverted to its rootstock. I think it’s an invasive and I’m debating on digging it up.

And finally, our out buildings which are more vibrant when you aren’t looking at them through heavy snow!

Our Indian Red outbuildings with blue trim.

Our Indian Red outbuildings with blue trim.

To see how vibrant things are for other WordPress bloggers participating in this week’s photo challenge, have a look here.

 

All photos taken with a Pentax K3 and a Tamron 28-200 mm lens – several at 200 mm which is a 300 mm equivalent on the Pentax crop sensor. One of the reasons I shoot with the Pentax is that it is weatherproof.

16 comments on “Vibrance in the Storm

  1. Tina Schell says:

    These are lovely – your aperture choices are spot-on. You can keep the snow tho!

    • BuntyMcC says:

      You’re giving me more credit than I deserve! The max aperture of this lens is f5.6 at 200mm and every picture but the one of the sheds was taken at it. I sometimes wish it were a bigger aperture but if I’m careful and keep near objects out of the background and the background at some distance I can get the subject to stand out from a blurry background. Snow is a fact of life where I live so you gotta roll with (or in) it!

  2. Wonderful close-ups and you made me smile with the comment to your first picture… 🙂
    (They love to stick in my horses and dogs coat too)

  3. BuntyMcC says:

    Thanks Noortje. I can’t imagine trying to get burdocks out of a dog or horse’s coat!

  4. What lovely details in the snow. I love the pine picture.

  5. Bunty, my favorite is the Indian Red outbuildings! I love the way the snow is coming down!

    • BuntyMcC says:

      It was a lovely snow and it stayed on the trees for two days as there was very little wind – which is rare for us. But it was heavy snow and lots of places to the east of us lost power for several hours. Thanks for commenting.

  6. jules says:

    Lovely. So much colour in a winter landscape.

  7. Really pretty! thanks for sharing.

  8. BuntyMcC says:

    Thanks for looking. There is colour there if you keep your eyes open.

  9. It lovely to see there’s so much color in winter and you found quite a bit!

  10. These are beautiful photos. I’ve just started exploring your blog and got stuck on Thailand. I was there many years ago and your great photos brought back wonderful memories. Thanks for checking out my blog and following.

    • BuntyMcC says:

      We are going to BC in May so I was doing a bit of research-via-Wordpress and found your blog which has great photos and good writing – one or both of which is required for me to follow it. Enjoy your winter! We are getting another 30=40 cm taste of it today!

Leave a Reply

