Our Phirst iPhriday Storm

Victoria Row: a pedestrian street in the warmer months.

Victoria Row: a pedestrian street in the warmer months.

I was in Charlottetown doing errands when the predicted snow began. The iPhone has just the right shutter speed for catching snowflakes.

These eateries are  just around the corner from the Connolly Block, below.  I remembered a story from my work days 30 years ago. The man charged with deciding whether the weather was bad enough to close our department had a view of the top of the Connolly Block from his office. When he couldn’t see Mr. Connolly’s head anymore – either because the visibility was down to zero or his head was enveloped in snow – he sent us home.

The Connolly Block, 1885

The Connolly Block, 1885

After driving home, and lunch, I went for a walk in our yard with two cameras, my Pentax and my iPhone.

Austrian Pine with wet snow three hours later.

Austrian Pine with wet snow three hours later.

Since these are posted for iPhriday, I am only showing the iPhone ones: shot with Hueless and edited in Photos on the iPhone. I’ll probably post a couple from the Pentax later this weekend.

Vernon Bridge + three hours - white spruce.

Vernon Bridge + three hours – white spruce.

6 comments on “Our Phirst iPhriday Storm

  1. Debbie H says:

    Lovely photos for iPhriday!

  2. I always enjoy your pictures Bunty!

    • BuntyMcC says:

      Thank you. The iPhriday challenge is a good one for me; I don’t feel as pressured as I do when trying to get something with the DSLR, and yet it’s a great push to get me photographing something at least once a week.

  3. great choice to make them black and white!

  4. BuntyMcC says:

    Thanks. Hueless (black and white camera) seems to take sharper pictures than the phone itself, but I may be wrong.

Leave a Reply

