Cauliflower, cauliPhlower

There’s a joke going around among Canadians on Facebook about asking the bank for a loan to buy a cauliflower.

This is why.

Organic Cauliflower - $7.99 where I do most of my grocery shopping.

Organic Cauliflower – $7.99 where I do most of my grocery shopping.

 

Regular cauliflower - only $6.99.

Regular cauliflower – only $6.99.

The Canadian dollar is worth 70 U.S. cents this week. So the price for a regular cauliflower would be $4.90 US.  All the more reason to buy locally at a Farmer’s Market!  On the bright side, the price of gas for the car, and heating fuel, is about 70% of what it was during the summer.

People who live in Canada’s north, where food must be flown in, face much higher prices.

Posted on and for iPhriday. You can join the fun at: Gray Days and Coffee.

23 comments on “Cauliflower, cauliPhlower

  1. FWIW- Fruit and veg are on the pricey side here in California where it’s grown now too! I’m hoping this El Nino is a good one and busts the drought this year. This is the 4th “serious/major” drought in my lifetime of living in California. If I’m lucky and get to live a bit longer I doubt it will be my last.

    Weather is cyclical!

    In the meantime I’ve been eating by the season since I was old enough to buy my own food. There is a whole lot less choice in winter, but if you love root veggies it’s the season for them! Thankfully I do. 🙂

    • BuntyMcC says:

      It’s getting green veggies this time of year that’s hard. Local organic farmers have just started selling lettuce grown in polytunnels so that’s where I’m going to get greens for a while.

  2. nivs24 says:

    We made cauliflower au gratin last weekend and our friends were like, “wow. luxury food.” LOL.

  3. taphian says:

    that’s really expensive. I’m happy that they are much cheaper here in Northern Germany, where it rains a lot, which is good for the fruits and vegetables but sometimes can be a drag

    • BuntyMcC says:

      We grow cole crops where I live but I think most of them go into frozen bags or are sold by late fall. They would be a lot cheaper if local.

      • taphian says:

        Sometimes it’s hard to understand the policy of some countries. In Greece for instance they have wonderful sunripe tomatos but were forced to import Dutch ones which only taste like cardboard.

  4. bythebriny says:

    Yikes! I don’t like cauliflower enough to pay those prices for it. 🙂

  5. Hahaha I like the joke being made about it.
    But do you think anyone will pay this much of money for a vegetable?
    I’d pass, definitely!

    • BuntyMcC says:

      I was in the store again today and it didn’t look like they’d moved much cauliflower. I would hope they would donate it to a soup kitchen if it doesn’t sell!

  6. wow, those phlorets better taste phabulous!

  7. I call this the Cauliflower Crisis of 2016.

  8. Rebekah M says:

    For four heads of cauliflower you get one barrel of oil! LOL

  9. Beachbums1 says:

    We’re experiencing the higher cauliflower prices as well. I’m not a big fan but my daughter loves it so I hand over the money!

Leave a Reply

