Oh, Christmas Tree

Lots of people leave their Christmas trees up until January 6 of the new year. Around here it’s called Little Christmas, but for the religious it is the feast of Epiphany.  We took ours down on January 6 but before we did I finally took some non-iPhone photos of the tree’s lights. I also tried a selfie, which I posted yesterday.

2015 Christmas Tree

2015 Christmas Tree

2015 Christmas Tree

2015 Christmas Tree

2015 Christmas Tree

2015 Christmas Tree

Taken with a Pentax K3 and a Tamron 90mm Macro lens at various shutter speeds, ISOs, and apertures. You do need a shutter speed of at least 1/125 to capture the bubbles in the bubbling lights.

11 comments on “Oh, Christmas Tree

  1. Anonymous says:

    Happy New Year Bunty..
    I took ours down on January 7th but was aiming for the 6th.. Epiphany.. I have the same bubbling lights but will need replacements. Where did you find yours?

    • BuntyMcC says:

      I bought them at least 20 years ago and had to replace one. When I did that I could only find white, and I was able to buy a single. I would guess they were bought at Home Hardware.

  2. Naomi says:

    So pretty! (We still have our tree up. We like to enjoy it as long as we can, but the needles are starting to fall off…)

    • BuntyMcC says:

      My tree had been cut the morning I got it – December 20 – so it was hardly dropping when we took it out. I’d have kept it longer but had commitments this weekend and didn’t want to wait until NEXT week. Hope you had a lovely Christmas.

  3. I aim for the day after Epiphany, but had to take it down earlier this year. We needed to make room for people for an event. 😀 Love the bubble light.

  4. We took ours down a couple days after Christmas this time because our son was home to help carry it out.

    Your images look great. Nice and festive.

  5. We aim for the 6th as well. Could have left it up much longer this year – still so healthy and fresh, hardly a needle dropped. But I took it down a few days earlier, on the 3rd, just to take advantage of the manpower that was due to abandon me on the 4th. Lovely lights! Uplifting during this dark time of year.

  6. My brother and I have major bubble-light nostalgia (I’m impressed you’ve had yours for so long!). He has a new string of bubble lights for his tree, I have a bubble nightlight. The new lights don’t last as long, but I still love them.

    • BuntyMcC says:

      bubble on….Bubbles are a category for our Photo Club’s show in June…so i had to shoot the lights before I took the tree down. I still have the box they came in too!

  7. Haven’t seen a bubble light since I was a child. Lovely!

Leave a Reply

