Gathering by Candlelight

Three days before Christmas we attended a musical extravaganza called Christmas Fantasia at St. Dunstan’s Basilica in Charlottetown, PEI.  The church was packed. 

  
The highlight for me was when the lights were dimmed and everyone lit a taper. During that magical time, the audience joined in four carols and the choir sang John Rutter’s Candlelight Carol.

   
   
For the Daily Post WordPress Photo Challenge ‘gathering

18 comments on “Gathering by Candlelight

  1. Beautiful (and goose bums I guess…)!

  2. BuntyMcC says:

    More pure delight than goose bumps. I didn’t think they allowed candles, at least not on that scale, indoors.

  3. Sandra Gaudet says:

    Great pictures!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  4. How absolutely lovely! Music, candlelight and gathering together – the best bits of the holiday (well, and the food, of course). Nice post!

  5. debiriley says:

    beautiful and touches the spirit, wonderful 🙂

  6. Dalo 2013 says:

    Beautiful photos ~ what a special night it must have been.

    • BuntyMcC says:

      Thanks for commenting and liking the photos. I loved the event because it reminded me of candle-lit Christmas services in my youth.

  7. It does look wonderful. We haven’t gone to the midnight service for a few years now with a little one in the house but I often think of the service, the light, the choir and the fantastic organ finale at Christmas.

    • BuntyMcC says:

      This was not at midnight but fairly early in the evening and there were lots of children there including a small group that sang a couple of carols. It was a purely musical evening with no religious service.

  8. dunelight says:

    Lovely..I too snuck a couple of quick ones from my iPhone on Christmas Eve. Photographers cannot help it.

    • BuntyMcC says:

      I tried to be subtle. The top photo was taken before the event started so I stood up. But for the others I tried to be quick because even I find the lit screens to be annoying when it’s supposed to be quiet or dark. Thanks for visiting and commenting.

Leave a Reply

