Manhattan Monday 27 – Harlem 3

The streets of Harlem’s southwest corner have mid-rise buildings with a variety of facades.
We didn’t have  time to explore further north into Harlem.

This one taken at the corner of 5th and 124th Street. The Streets in Manhattan turn from East to West (or vice versa) at 5th Avenue.

Harlem NYC

Harlem NYC

This is from the corner of Mount Morris Park West and West 124th.

Harlem NYC

Harlem NYC

The street signs below read: Mount Morris Park West and West 124th Street. – so this one was along the western edge of Marcus Garvey Park.

Harlem NYC

Harlem NYC

as was this one….

Harlem NYC

Harlem NYC

But I have no idea where this one is from, except that it was across from a NYPD station!

Harlem NYC

Harlem NYC

13 comments on “Manhattan Monday 27 – Harlem 3

  1. Wow…There is some great architecture there.

    • BuntyMcC says:

      It sure adds interest to the streetscape! I haven’t been to Montreal to photograph their outside staircases since I got my digital camera, but would love to do so, especially in winter.

  2. Beautiful photoset, I am not really into cities, but would love to visit New York ☺

    • BuntyMcC says:

      I live in a rural area so go to cities for “vacations.” And have discovered I like street photography of both the streets themselves and the people on them. Thanks for the comment.

      • I too live in the country, but work in a city (Leeds). I tried street photography once, but was always afraid of being too intrusive – I guess I was just a coward when it came to pointing a lens at people..

  3. Love the architecture, and the view of that lovely tree lined street, and lush potted plants on West 124th, and Mount Morris Park West. I have had a different picture of Harlem in my head all my life!
    That street/corner looks very Sex in the City chic. 🙂

    • BuntyMcC says:

      Oh I’m sure there are parts of Harlem that DO fit your image. We chose not to go there. We didn’t have much time, just part of a morning, and wanted to check out the Apollo theatre; alas, it was closed.

      • Harlem like the East Side of my city has been seeing an influx of new residents that work and can only afford to buy housing on the low end. It’s changed the neighborhood for the better en mon avis, but there are still hard parts of the East Side here too. I don’t go there either.

Leave a Reply

