Ice

When water reaches a temperature below 0 degrees Celsius (32 Fahrenheit) it changes to ice.

The temperature last week was up and down like a yoyo.

Heavy rain (at 17C) left 10 cm of water in this tub. Two days later the top 5 cm froze.

Wanting to photograph the bubbles and the embedded leaves, I dumped the ice out.


Pictures taken with iPhone 6 and edited in Snapseed and Marksta.
For this week’s WordPress photo challenge Transition.

The iPhone WordPress editor is letting me down….

29 comments on “Ice

  1. Sabiscuit says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your WordPress editor issues. These photos are lovely though. Nice work.

  2. Janice says:

    These are great pictures! We have no ice yet.

  3. What an enormous temperature difference in such a short time! But the transition-pictures are beautiful!

  4. pix & kardz says:

    i agree – beautiful images. i hope the editing issues are resolved soon. but if you hadn’t mentioned the challenges, i would have been none the wiser. these are brilliant. thanks for sharing.

  5. panhirsch says:

    Lovely photos!

  6. Tina Schell says:

    Agree w you about the editor but loved your shot – esp the comtemporary graphic!!

    • BuntyMcC says:

      I’m not sure which graphic you mean because, in a later edit I deleted a photo of a large thermometer because it seemed to be spilling all over the page. But thank you!

  7. Jane Lurie says:

    Hi Bunty- That seconds shot with the ice and leaves is awesome. Love the vibrancy of the image.

  8. I don’t miss living in a cold climate, but I wish I had the occasional chance to play (photographically) with ice the way you did so effectively here.

  9. Great images .. I can’t imagine posting from my phone .. 😊

    • BuntyMcC says:

      Well I find when I take a photo on my phone it’s easier to post it from my phone. I have just figured out how to get the iPhone photos onto my computer….so probably won’t do it very often again.

  10. Lignum Draco says:

    Lovely images. And the snow falling on your blog adds to the chill factor. 🙂

    • BuntyMcC says:

      Ha! They did that last year around the Holidays….I hadn’t noticed the snow falling this year until you mentioned it. In the real world, we are getting our first big snowfall tonight – about 15 cm (6 inches.) Thanks for visiting and commenting.

  11. Beautiful, the colours are wonderful ☺

  12. I love the mix of colours, textures and shapes of the leaves and the ice.

  13. debiriley says:

    great shots, love the color and designs

Leave a Reply

