WPC: The tick bite that changed my life

AN extremely important message, expressed succinctly, with excellent resource suggestions. Ticks have come to Canada too, and too few in the medical community are aware of what to do about it.

The Farmers in the Dell

fence post - TheFarmersInTheDell.com

I am a very private person.  Very few people know about my trials and tribulations.  That’s just me – I play my cards close to the vest.  Until now…

I will let you in on a struggle that has consumed me for five years and changed my body and my life.

I have the unfortunate distinction of being a “Lymie.”  I suffer with chronic Lyme Disease and the co-infections Bartonella and Babesia.  I live in a Lyme hot spot and personally know over two dozen people with Lyme Disease, including three in my extended family.

Lyme Disease is an infectious disease caused by the Borrelia burgdorferi spirochete, which is transferred by the blacklegged (deer) tick.  When bitten, a tick may also simultaneously transmit Babesiosis, Ehrlichiosis, and Bartonella.  Ticks are most abundant in wooded areas and tall grasses, but can also be found in lawns and shrubs.  Ticks can be active in the…

View original post 372 more words

This entry was posted in Canada.

3 comments on “WPC: The tick bite that changed my life

  1. Well chosen. Excellent piece to reblog.

Leave a Reply

