Million Acre Farm

Wheat and Potatoes in eastern Queens

Wheat and Potatoes in eastern Queens

Despite having lived on Prince Edward Island for 40 years, and its main economic staple being agriculture, I really don’t know much about the crops grown here. I took the photo about one kilometre from my house on a grey day almost a week ago. Only this morning did I have a minute to figure out what the crop on the left half of this photo is. Wheat is on the left, potatoes, PEI’s major cash crop, is just coming into blossom on the right. In the distance, past the unseen outflow of the Seal River, are the barns and houses of a large farm complex where they also have beef cattle.

For more takes on the concept of Half and Half, do visit the WordPress site for the photo challenge.

We’ve had a week of grey skies and rain. And, although much needed by the farmers, it would be nice to see the sun again. Grey skies lend themselves to black and white photos too, so I converted this one by a simple switch in Lightroom and tweaked the saturation of the blues and reds.

Vernon Bridge farmland: wheat and potatoes

Vernon Bridge farmland: wheat and potatoes

In case you were wondering what the smoking mass in the foreground is – which I chose not to crop out – I’m not sure. At first I thought it was manure from the barn behind me, but it smelled like smoke. I didn’t ask.

4 comments on “Million Acre Farm

  1. Smoky manure? It doesn’t bear thinking about.

  2. inesephoto says:

    I love the color version better. The colors are so rich.
    Isn’t it some piece of burnt cloth? Difficult to tell.

Leave a Reply

