Roy G. Biv

Despite knowing the mnemonic for the colours of light in a rainbow for years, I hadn’t thought much about the distinction between blue, indigo and violet. Lightroom, which I use to edit photos, allows you to adjust red, orange, yellow, aqua, blue, purple and magenta. No indigo there. And we were probably all taught that there were three primary and three secondary pigment ‘colours’ – which included purple but no indigo or violet.

My contribution to this photo challenge is a collection of bright photos, mostly of flowers, one as old as seven years, one from exactly one year ago. I included one photo to illustrate a favourite geranium fading from indigo to violet.

This marks my return to regular posts, I hope.

For other takes on the photo challenge of photographing a rainbow or its colours, check this out.

14 comments on “Roy G. Biv

  1. A beautiful rainbow collection!

  2. inesephoto says:

    Stunning colors! Thank you for sharing!

  3. I had issues with blue, indigo and violet too ! I thought it was just me.

  4. Now that is what I call a rainbow of gorgeous colours πŸ˜ƒ

    • BuntyMcC says:

      Our photo club’s annual show usually has one category which is simply a colour, so I have quite a collection. But I tried to stick with flowers for consistency in the post. It is claimed by some that there are few if any truly blue flowers.

  5. I had to google indigo vs violet too! At least I am not alone πŸ™‚

  6. Tina Schell says:

    Lovely choices Bunty – such a gorgeous array of colors!!

Leave a Reply

