Manhattan Monday

New York Public Library

New York Public Library

Fourth in a series of four paintings about the history of reading outside the entrance to the (closed) Rose Main Reading Room in the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building in New York City. The young people seated on the bench could be models for a fifth painting to add to the series.

I’ll be travelling a lot over the next six weeks so I have pre-scheduled some one-shot wonderfuls.

5 comments on “Manhattan Monday

  1. I love the concept. P.s. have you read the book “A History of Reading” by Alberto Manguel? It’s phenomenal if you’re into that kind of thing.

    • BuntyMcC says:

      I have it, and read part, but I never seem to have time to read non-fiction. The painting was part of a series that I should have described as a history of the printed word, with the first one being Moses and the tablets and the third being Gutenburg. I can’t remember the second and can’t seem to find it online… Thanks for visiting my blog!

      • At one point I tended to be the same…after years of university, all I wanted to read was fiction. It’s only been in the last 9 months to a year that I’ve made it mandatory for myself to be into at least one non-fiction along with my loveable sci-fi adventures.

  2. inesephoto says:

    An excellent shot!

Leave a Reply

