I don’t do mornings

Glasgow Mill Pond. Route 13 in PEI between New Glasgow and Mayfield.

Glasgow Mill Pond. Route 13 in PEI between New Glasgow and Mayfield.

The early bird gets the worm. It can have it.  I don’t do mornings.

I checked the metadata on what I thought were some early-morning photos taken in Thailand: 9:10 am. Nope. Not early enough.

I thought about trying to shoot one of those poor, shivering, blue herons who have returned too early to PEI expecting to find spring and instead facing ice in the rivers and snow on the banks.

Then I remembered an early morning photo shoot when I was on a course in September 2010. It was given by John Sylvester who is one of the nicest people you could ever wish to meet, as well as a superb landscape photographer.

Other people who get up early have posted their responses to the WordPress Photo Challenge here.

20 comments on “I don’t do mornings

    • BuntyMcC says:

      Steam? In early September? More like a cold mist. But yes, that was what I was trying to capture. I have learned a lot since then….Thanks.

  1. That is definitely a view to get up for.

  2. Hanna says:

    This post made me smile a lot thank you ❤ 🙂

  3. BuntyMcC says:

    Yes, John Sylvester definitely knows where to go to shoot at all times of day and seasons. I’m sure glad I didn’t take his course in July, we would have been up at 4:00 a.m.

  4. BuntyMcC says:

    Thank you Elen.

  5. lol .. I’m not really flash at early mornings either 🙂 nice shot!

  6. Louise Welcome says:

    Utterly love that photo… just breath taking. I do mornings big time 🙂 If I capture anything like this, I’ll be happy! Louise

  7. Tina Schell says:

    I am SOOOO with you on this one Bunty! I do it about twice a year and always get my best results but somehow I just cannot warm up to early morning shooting!

  8. BuntyMcC says:

    If I were all ready to go when I woke up, I might go more often, like I was for the course. But to wake up and see a great fog or sunrise and then, in my own fog, figure out coffee, camera gear, clothing etc usually means I miss whatever I should have been shooting.

  9. Eric Albee says:

    Sometimes it’s worth it to get up early! The mist looks beautiful and perfect, even if it was taken at 9 in the morning!

    • BuntyMcC says:

      I should have said: this was taken shortly after 6 am. The photos from Thailand that I thought were early, turned out to be from 9ish, so I didn’t use them. That mist was gone by the time we left the site an hour later. Thanks for looking and commenting.

Leave a Reply

