PEI Burger Love Two

Salad in focus. Burger not. Blame the phone.

Salad in focus. Burger not. Blame the phone.

Halfway through the month and I’ve had 5 of the 60 burgers on offer. The background to Burger Love is here.

I’m easily swayed by people commenting on Facebook, so one lunch time we tried La Dolce Vita at Piatto Pizza and Enotica for La Dolce Vita.  We also split a (tiny) Caesar salad.

Pizza oven. Not, I think, the burger grill.

Pizza oven. Not, I think, the burger grill.

The sweet life was pretty hot.

The sweet life was pretty hot.

Despite having a lot of great flavours, especially the bacon onion jam and the garlic, overall it was too spicy/hot for my tastes and the meat was boring. 6/10

Earlier that week we had split a Shawarma burger and a Fattouch salad at Cedar’s Eatery.  The beef was infused with Shawarma spices and topped with chicken shawarma with the whole topped by a  pickled turnip.  I forgot to take photos!  8/10

Last Sunday (before the PEI Symphony) I ate The Shortlist at the bar of our newest hotel’s restaurant, the Redwater Rustic Grille.What made the Shortlist special was the beetroot relish and the fact that the beef was not overcooked. The onion/beef jus for dipping detracted from the burger. 9/10  I had the burger 3/4 eaten before I remembered that I had forgotten to take photos. Check out the link to see what it looked like.
Promo on a napkin dispenser; a must-have for burger love.

Promo on a napkin dispenser; a must-have for burger love.

My favourite so far has been Smokey and the Bandit at the Downtown Deli: 8 oz. Island Beef patty with signature Smokey Seasoning, COWS Applewood Smoked Cheddar™, Dry Cured Bacon, Red Ale Chipotle Mustard, Caramelized Onion & Mint Chutney, Homemade Crispy Onions, Arugula, and Sliced Tomatoes on a Homemade Onion Rosemary Foccacia Bun, garnished with Granny Smith Apple Slices.

Apple and grape. Who knew?

Apple and grape. Who knew?

Why did I love this burger? First off, do not tell the PEI Health inspector. Burgers on PEI must be fully cooked. This one was so juicy and flavourfully close to the borderline of medium rare that I think it tipped over to the dark side. Second, the apple and grape topping was brilliant; have a bite of apple after a few bites of burger and it refreshes your palate and gets you ready to taste the burger anew. Third, the bits of onion were crisp and tasty to the end, and a nice counterpoint to the strong flavours of the smoke and cheese. Finally, the bun was the freshest, best, I’ve had yet. 10/10

Now where shall we go for my birthday?

15 comments on “PEI Burger Love Two

  1. I am absolutely burger-starving now! Bacon-onion jam? Be still my heart. Just remember to take a picture on your birthday, wouldja? 😉

  2. Naomi says:

    Yuuuummmm!!!

  3. Jean says:

    I like seafood burgers. Seriously. Bison burger is ok and is easier to find in Alberta.

    I just find a lot of the burgers the meat is minced which destroys the original texture of the meat itself..

    • BuntyMcC says:

      Yes, but, as I mentioned in my first Burger Love post, this is a promotion of local beef. I suppose they could have steak love, and they do have a similar Pork love-something-or other in October and a Shellfish festival in September.

      • Jean says:

        But no lobster love? 🙂

        • BuntyMcC says:

          Lobster IS shellfish. And there are Lobster Dinners in several locations all summer. These other festivals and love-ins are to promote eating in the off-season and eating things other than lobster, which doesn’t need much promotion. The lobster fishers need higher prices just to stay in business, but that’s a whole other kettle of fish (!)

          • Jean says:

            Ah, higher prices of lobster during off-season maybe around love-ins.

            Brings back good memories of our summer bike trip nearly 2 decades ago in PEI.

  4. philandjane says:

    Look up Google images- ” Canadian charcoal pit Altrincham”. I ate here as a youth. I felt it connected me to my Canadian Heroes. Alex Geddy and Neil.
    Recollection of eating at “White Spot” in Vancouver (thought it was a disease of tropical fish). BBQ’s at 1207 Pendrell St overlooking English bay — jalapeños and jack cheese— sweet memories.

    • BuntyMcC says:

      Interesting about a Canadian charcoal pit restaurant, as I didn’t know that was a Canadian ‘thing.’ Barbecues in summer, yes, and they, I suppose, were formerly of Charcoal (not gas fired!) .If I get near Manchester next April when I’m in England I’ll have to check this out.

  5. lovetotrav says:

    Ahhh Cedar’s. Now that is a place I miss. Never ate at Downtown Deli but always saw it sitting there. Can’t remember… is there an actual winner to Burger Love? Or is it an individual thing so to speak?

    • BuntyMcC says:

      Apparently they announce the winner May 6. Also, whether PEI set a record burger-eating day on April 25, and other totals. Not to be confused with the election winner (Liberals) and record (1 Green seat!!!!!) decided last night.

Leave a Reply

