Ayutthaya, Thailand

Wat Mahathat

Wat Mahathat – the context

Wat Mahathat

Wat Mahathat – details

In November of 2012 we spent three weeks in Thailand. At the time, my son, daughter-in-law, and their two children were living in Bangkok while my son was country manager for Right to Play (about which more in later posts.)

While there, we made a day trip by bus, arranged by my Thai-speaking DiL,  to the King’s Summer Palace (Bang Pa-In Royal Palace), on to Ayutthaya, and the reclining Buddha, with a return boat ride – including lunch – down the Chao Phraya river to Bangkok.

Founded c. 1350, Ayutthaya became the second Siamese capital after Sukhothai. It was destroyed by the Burmese in the 18th century. Its remains, characterized by the prang (reliquary towers) and gigantic monasteries, give an idea of its past splendour. (This is a short summary from the Unesco World Heritage site: if you want to know more, Google it!)

Our tour probably included some explanations and descriptions but it was far too hot and sticky to stand in one place.  When I have a camera in my hand, my attention span for long descriptions disappears.  So I have no idea where I was on the site when I took the photos, and therefore don’t know which Wat is which.

Here are two views of the same set of towers, from two different angles.

Ayutthaya-1

Not Ozymandias.

 

 

Ayutthaya-1-4

 

And here are some details from one of the temples.

Ayutthaya-1-6

 

Ayutthaya-1-5

For another take on Ayutthaya, check out Notes from Camelid Country who is also showcasing a trip to Thailand in recent posts.

I’ll have some more photos from Ayutthaya in the next post, followed by more of this day trip and more of Thailand.

5 comments on “Ayutthaya, Thailand

  1. BuntyMcC says:

    Yes, I’d seen that in a travel book somewhere before we went so I was delighted to discover the head in the trees. Did you get my Ozymandias joke?

Leave a Reply

