Pine Siskins in Blizzard

Birds in Blizzard-8137

Where I used to live, on a more wooded lot about 50 km west of where I live now, there were Pine Siskins every winter. This is the first year I’ve noticed them here in Vernon Bridge. They’re about the same size as the Redpolls and a little smaller than the Goldfinch. They too travel in flocks, and there are probably about 20 around our feeders. They’re very aggressive, particularly with each other.

Pine Siskins

Pine Siskins

So, if you bird lovers are wondering what else we saw during the blizzard at the feeder (you couldn’t see beyond the feeders!) there were starlings at one point, crows and the occasional chickadee.

8 comments on “Pine Siskins in Blizzard

  1. Tina Schell says:

    Must admit I’ve never heard of a pine siskin but I’m sure they truly appreciate the birdfeed with that much snow around!! Lovely little birds aren’t they?

    • BuntyMcC says:

      They’re a type of finch and prefer the niger seed which costs a bundle! I was mistaking them for song sparrows until I saw the yellow under the wing.

  2. Striking little birds aren’t they? Great markings ..

  3. BuntyMcC says:

    They look quite nondescript until you notice the yellow under the wing.

  4. First time I’ve heard of this little cutie. Nice shots.

    • BuntyMcC says:

      They usually like to stay in the woods, and I used to live on a wooded lot so saw them every winter. It’s more open where I live now and this is the first year in 14 that I’ve seen them – food must be scarce. Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

