White Dog in Snow

Martha

Martha

I went out today with my camera after a snow flurry – on top of all the other snow we have – and there was Martha, the community dog! She’s a Maremma or Abruzza and keeps the neighbourhood, as well as her home farm, free of coyotes.

We cringe every time she comes here because she is white, and there’s lots of snow, and she has to cross the Trans Canada Highway and walk along it for 200 meters to get here. I’ve included the colour photo of her too, so you can see what she really looks like.

Dirty Dog

Dirty Dog

Benjamin Rowe of Aperture 64 challenged me to post a black and white photo per day (you get two today!) for five days and to challenge five other bloggers to do the same.  (Yeah, chain letters for bloggers…) I usually only post three times a week, so the five posts will take about 10 days, and I’ll name the bloggers on the last day.

Martha

Martha

Every time I tried to focus on Martha’s face she’d put a paw on me to get me to rub her head or belly. I’m surprised I got this shot!

Dirty Dog

Dirty Dog

 

13 comments on “White Dog in Snow

  1. Sandy Jess says:

    Martha is a beautiful dog!! Being an animal lover, I cringe she walks on the trans Canada Highway…..thanks for sharing Bunty!! We are now in Florida…for two months…with Zeus, our rescue dog…

    • BuntyMcC says:

      She’s lovely but they have tried everything to keep her home and nothing has worked. She was once found five miles away, having chased a coyote… Enjoy the warmth of Florida with Zeus. Nice to hear from you, Sandy.

  2. Naomi says:

    What a beautiful dog!

  3. BuntyMcC says:

    With a beautiful personality. Thanks!

  4. suej says:

    I like the black & white version, Bunty 🙂

  5. Oh she is just beautiful .. I can just imagine her popping her paw in you lap 🙂

    • BuntyMcC says:

      She’s beautiful and loves attention. But she can scare the daylights out of me when she lands in the yard while I’m gardening and I see her out of the corner or my eye and something instinctive says: “Wolf, prepare to run.”

Leave a Reply

