Ice Remedy

Split toning in Lightroom: highlight aqua, shadows orange.

Split toning in Lightroom: highlight aqua, shadows orange.

A day or two ago I was reading a blog post:  Good Photos in Bad Light: Remedies for the Blahs! by the folks at oopoomoo.  And later I had to go get the mail. Our box is across the road, then across the river, then 200 meters around the curve to the group mailbox.  I took along my Sony RX100III.

Even when it is dull and grey and the wind is damp and penetrating, if you go out with an open mind and fresh eyes you can always find a satisfying shot to come home with.

Split toning a bit here too.

Split toning a bit here too.

The red Island soil makes for an interesting grunge when the ice shifts.

The red Island soil makes for an interesting grunge when the ice shifts.

The west side of the jetty.  A  floating wharf for the shell fishers is put in and anchored to the posts in spring and taken out just before freeze-up in the fall.

The west side of the jetty. A floating wharf for the shell fishers is put in and anchored to the posts in spring and taken out just before freeze-up in the fall.

The east side of the jetty looking out the river.

The east side of the jetty looking out the river.

2 comments on “Ice Remedy

  1. poppytump says:

    Hello Bunty … I rather like your split toning approach 🙂 funnily enough I was just reading about the technique yesterday and thought why not .. but have not at the moment found the right image.
    I don’t envy you those cold walks to fetch your mail … but on the other hand coming back with a few shots like this can only be a good thing ! I think I’ll just check out those links – thanks .
    Keep warm !

    • BuntyMcC says:

      I didn’t even KNOW about split toning until I read a “how to” post on DPS (Digital Photo School, out of Australia). I had seen the panel in Lightroom, but because I had no idea what it did, I closed it and thought no more. I tried it on some B&W photos too. Best used sparingly. Thanks for commenting. We just had a blizzard, must go shovel…

Leave a Reply

