Hong Kong Street Photography #2

Little Italy? in Hong Kong?

Little Italy? in Hong Kong?

These are photos of streets with people as the decoration, rather than the type of street photography which focuses on people with their urban environment as setting. Nonetheless the presence of people in the photos is what makes them interesting.

The lads in the bucket were acting up when we went by,  but this photo doesn't capture it!

The lads in the bucket were acting up when we went by, but this photo doesn’t capture it!

On the street where we looked for lunch, half way up the escalators.

On the street where we looked for lunch, half way up the escalators.

Below are a couple of colour versus black and white comparisons. The more I convert photos to black and white, the more I want to do more of it.

Debris-catcher-enclosed building and vendors encroaching on the street.

Debris-catcher-enclosed building and vendors encroaching on the street.

Black and white: Debris-catcher-enclosed building and vendors encroaching on the street.

Black and white: Debris-catcher-enclosed building and vendors encroaching on the street.

Hardware store with working area on the street.

Hardware store with working area on the street.

Black and white: Hardware store with working area on the street.

Black and white: Hardware store with working area on the street.

9 comments on “Hong Kong Street Photography #2

  1. I love your street shots, especially the signage!

  2. achinacat says:

    Great post. I nominated you for a Liebster award – to see the rules look at my page here https://achinacat.wordpress.com/2014/08/26/ive-been-nominated-for-the-liebster-award/ thanks

    • buntymcc says:

      Thanks, I should put on my blog that I am an award-free blogger. Someone nominated me before for this award – and I looked into it seriously – but in the end decided not to participate. I will check out your blog, though!

  3. robert87004 says:

    I think B+W works well in these photos. 🙂

  4. Your street shots are great. I like that the people are not the focus but just one more element!

  5. With so many items jam packed into each shop (even spilling out into the streets) and so many people, I wonder if Hong Kong has a problem with shoplifting? Or are they just more honor-bound than we are in the US?

    • buntymcc says:

      I have no idea about shop lifting. But I believe that Chinese ethics are such that that sort of thing doesn’t happen. Corruption at high levels, yes, stealing from your neighbours, no. And I expect there’d be swift retribution from the store owner before calling the police!

Leave a Reply

