The Tourists of Guilin

Ride the stone elephant near Elephant Trunk Hill.

Ride the stone elephant near Elephant Trunk Hill.

Would you be hanging about this park with all its tourists if you lived here?  Though it was beautiful, clean, well maintained and cooler than the centre of a city, you’d probably wait until after the crowds had subsided.

I cringe when I look at this photo, as I was doing when trying not to think of this toddler crashing off the statue.

I cringe when I look at this photo, and I was cringing as I took the photo hoping not to see the toddler crashing off the statue.

This toddler is also having fun, but safely.

This toddler is also having fun, but safely.

It was quite hot, so lots of folks were wading in the river.

The family that wades together, gets sick together?

The family that wades together, gets sick together?

A close up of the previous group.  I had visions of them all falling down together.

A close up of the previous group. I had visions of them all falling down together.

They were renting costumes (I did’t notice any for boys). We had seen this before in Beijing in the Forbidden City.

Guilin people-9931

And finally today, another interesting English translation of a sign. Actually the graphic says it all without the need for either language.

Please notice the punctuation. Two commas, an exclamation mark and a period. I didn't realize they used punctuation in China!

Please notice the punctuation. Two commas, an exclamation mark and a period. I didn’t realize they used punctuation in China!

If I seem a bit jaded today it’s because it’s beautiful outside but I’ve been on my computer all day doing various tasks for the organizations I’m involved with, and adding blog posts for future use.

Next post: Night time in Guilin.

Leave a Reply

