Aviary on the Move – Photo Challenge

I am fortunate to live in a rural area beside a river. My aviary lives in the sky around me and while I do not fancy myself as a wildlife photographer, I have captured shots of flocks in formation, ragged or otherwise.

For several years thousands of geese have overwintered in the river beside our house. Not this year though. Winter hit early, stormily and cold and they (wisely) decamped to somewhere further south.

Hundreds of Canada Geese stretch their wings.

Hundreds of Canada Geese stretch their wings.

Canada Geese overwinter in the river next to our home and fly off to feed in corn fields during the day.

Canada Geese overwinter in the river next to our home and fly off to feed in corn fields during the day.

Wild pigeons live under the Trans Canada Highway Bridge which crosses the Vernon River.

A flock of pigeons live under the bridge.

A flock of pigeons live under the bridge.

There are mixed farms around us which raise potatoes, grain, corn, beef, dairy cattle and pigs, the last downwind of prevailing winds, for which I am grateful.

After a long cold winter, seagulls splash in fresh water puddles in farm fields. Surprised me too!

After a long cold winter, seagulls splash in fresh water puddles in farm fields . Surprised me too!

A murmuration of starlings (?) or sparrows (?) around dairy and beef farms.

A murmuration of starlings (?) or sparrows (?) around dairy and beef farms.

See more interpretations of “on the move” here.

4 comments on “Aviary on the Move – Photo Challenge

  1. sbandtg says:

    i just looked at your “about” page. i thought you live somewhere in the canadian maritimes! nice site. and i can relate to a failry new website. i started mine just before i headed to china for eight months. i look forward to following your wanderings and photos!

    • buntymcc says:

      Thanks Tamara. Your photos are great. In fact you were my inspiration to go out at dusk tonight and shoot, despite the Maritime mosquitoes, which seem worse this year. PS I love Montreal but haven’t been in years.

  2. sbandtg says:

    anytime you need montreal recommendations… let me know. i’m honoured that you like my photos. i have to do more night shots myself. perhaps when in montreal this july…

Leave a Reply

