“Two roads diverged in a wood, and I -” I digress

Quote from Robert Frost.

I digress from my China travelogue to show you Prince Edward Island in early November after a wind and rain storm has stripped most of the trees. The PEI Photo Club has monthly outings, and as I had not used my camera since China, I planned to join it. I was late leaving the city because I was fetching and carrying for ACT (a community theatre), didn’t have a map of the ‘new’ Plan B changes to the Trans Canada Highway, could find no signs, and arrived 45 minutes late at the lookout above Strathgartney Park.  Lots of paths diverged in the wood, and I took the one where I didn’t meet a soul for 90 minutes.

The Strathgartney Park lookout in central PEI.

The Strathgartney Park lookout in central PEI.

This is why I couldn't find the park.  When they moved the road they put the signs away - for safekeeping?

This is why I couldn’t find the park. When they moved the road they put the signs away – for safekeeping?

A tiny bit of yellow in a sea of beech-orange.

A tiny bit of yellow in a sea of beech-orange.

An experiment with intentional camera motion, to which I added heavy grain.  The yellow is probably from the tree in the previous photo.

An experiment with intentional camera motion, to which I added heavy grain. The yellow is probably from the tree in the previous photo.

The beech forest.

The beech forest.

The beech have a layered look - which reminds me of Japanese gardens.

The beech have a layered look – which reminds me of Japanese gardens.

Hanging in...

Hanging in…

Alder cones. I had a macro lens but no tripod (tsk tsk) so most of the macro shots are not in enough focus.  This one made the grade.

Alder cones. I had a macro lens but no tripod (tsk tsk) so most of the macro shots are not in enough focus. This one made the grade.

2 comments on ““Two roads diverged in a wood, and I -” I digress

  1. Liz says:

    i could tell it wasn’t China because of the blue sky in the first picture. Liz

    • buntymcc says:

      Indeed! When I got off the airplane in Montreal on October 12 and it was clear and cold, I pumped my fist and said Yesssss!

Leave a Reply

